Quiz Question

One of a continuing series

mathematics-gemoetrydivideidentical

Readers have been getting off easy recently. I’m going back to geometry questions, so give your brain a work out.

I found this on the Internet, but you shouldn’t go looking for the solution without first coming up with a solution. With a single line, does not need to be straight, divide the shape shown above into two identical parts. Post your answer as a comment below.

Actually, send me a copy of your solution by email, and I will post it.

Update

No solution. I have not solved it. Mike proposed a solution. See his comment below. Unable to post a graphic, he indicated the shape of the solution as follows:

XX
XXX
X

See the figure below:

Shape A is the original, turned upright. Shape B is Mike’s proposed solution in graphical form. My apologies if I misinterpreted Mike’s rendition.

What is apparent to me is that shape B cannot be fitted twice into shape A. I’m calling the Quiz Question still  unanswered.

4 thoughts on “Quiz Question

  1. Pingback: Quiz Question | Skeptical Analysis

Leave a Reply

