Snowflake-in-Chief

New game in town

Back nearly two years ago when billionaire Donald Trump announced he would run for President of the United States, I considered it the biggest joke of the decade. Did I ever have fun!

Within the past few days I have made a number of jokes, even snide remarks, about the person who now appears to be the favorite among Republican voters. I am sure we have all grown weary of these digs at Donald Trump and his supposed campaign. So I will shut this down, at least for a while with a final word on the matter. And this is it.

Was I ever wrong!

What seemed in 2015 to be near impossible has come to pass, as have so many human calamities. We now have Donald Trump as President, and the fun is becoming more than we can stand. Now, when I thought it could not get any more fun, our Snowflake-in-Chief today gifted me as never before. Following the announcement of R. Alexander Acosta as his new labor secretary pick, the President took questions from reporters. What followed was hilarious to me, at the same time embarrassing to any number of Trump voters. I caught the episode live streamed to my computer and captured some screen shots. The video is from CBS News, but CNN has rapidly put out a list of  Most memorable lines from Trump’s news conference. I will reproduce the pertinent quotes captured by CNN’s Dan Merica along with some screen shots:

politics-trumpconferencepolitics-trumpconference20170216-03

“This administration is running like a fine-tuned machine.”

politics-trumpconference20170216-15

politics-trumpconferencepolitics-trumpconference20170216-04

“You can talk all you want about Russia — which was all a fabricated fake news … It is all fake news. It is all fake news.”

politics-trumpconferencepolitics-trumpconference20170216-06

“I don’t think he did anything wrong. If anything, he did something right.”
“The thing is he didn’t tell our Vice President properly and then he said he didn’t remember… that just wasn’t acceptable to me.”

politics-trumpconferencepolitics-trumpconference20170216-10

“The leaks are real, the news is fake.”

politics-trumpconference20170216-12

Here are the remaining quotes provided by

On picking his next question

“I want to find a friendly reporter.”

On false claims about his Electoral College win’s spot in history

“I was given that information, I don’t know.”

On his own speech

“I’m not ranting and raving, I’m just telling you you’re dishonest people.”
[He said, ranting at reporters.]

On Obamacare

Obamacare, they fill up our alleys with people you wonder how they got there.”

On an alternative career

“I’d be a pretty good reporter.”

On dealing with Russia

“The greatest thing I could do is shoot that ship that’s 30 miles offshore right out of the water. Everyone will say, “Oh, it’s so great, it’s so great. That’s not great.”

On nuclear holocaust and Russia

“Nuclear holocaust would be like no other. They are a very powerful nuclear country and so are we. But if we have a good relationship with Russia, believe me, that is as good thing, not a bad thing.”

On the travel ban

“We had a very smooth rollout of the travel ban, we had a bad court.”

On violence in Chicago

“There are two Chicagos, as you know. One Chicago that is incredible, luxurious and safe. There is another Chicago that is worse than almost any of the places in the Middle East that we talk about and that you talk about on the news.”

My reaction, as I started to watch, was one of total disbelief. All right, I did believe what I was watching, but I found it difficult to believe this was a President of the United States standing there saying those things. I impulsively initiated a Facebook dialog:

Shocking! I’m watching the President address the press and the American people. The level of discourse is juvenile to say the most. This is the United States?

Maisie Morris Freedman Listening to him too and he makes me wonder just what country we are now living in ! Still talking about the elections and having another rally in Florida ! GEEEZE !!
Julie Fisher Gobbledygook and lies.
John Blanton Still watching. Capturing screen shots. Blog post coming.
Julie Fisher Omg he dares to mention his conversation about N. Korea and leaks!!!
Helen Cutler He’s much better if you hit the mute button.
Julie Fisher Oh, no, back to the election. Electric char!!
Julie Fisher Just totally contradicted what he said a moment before.
John Blanton I’m going to need a transcript. Where can I get one?

Behold, a transcript is available. Here is a partial and a link from The New York Times:

I’m here today to update the American people on the incredible progress that has been made in the last four weeks since my inauguration. We have made incredible progress. I don’t think there’s ever been a president elected who in this short period of time has done what we’ve done.

A new Rasmussen poll, in fact — because the people get it — much of the media doesn’t get it. They actually get it, but they don’t write it. Let’s put it that way. But a new Rasmussen poll just came out just a very short while ago, and it has our approval rating at 55 percent and going up. The stock market has hit record numbers, as you know. And there has been a tremendous surge of optimism in the business world, which is — to me means something much different than it used to. It used to mean, “Oh, that’s good.” Now it means, “That’s good for jobs.” Very different.

Plants and factories are already starting to move back into the United States, and big league — Ford, General Motors, so many of them. I’m making this presentation directly to the American people, with the media present, which is an honor to have you. This morning, because many of our nation’s reporters and folks will not tell you the truth, and will not treat the wonderful people of our country with the respect that they deserve. And I hope going forward we can be a little bit — a little bit different, and maybe get along a little bit better, if that’s possible. Maybe it’s not, and that’s OK, too.

TRUMP: Unfortunately, much of the media in Washington, D.C., along with New York, Los Angeles in particular, speaks not for the people, but for the special interests and for those profiting off a very, very obviously broken system. The press has become so dishonest that if we don’t talk about, we are doing a tremendous disservice to the American people. Tremendous disservice. We have to talk to find out what’s going on, because the press honestly is out of control. The level of dishonesty is out of control.

I ran for president to present the citizens of our country. I am here to change the broken system so it serves their families and their communities well. I am talking — and really talking on this very entrenched power structure, and what we’re doing is we’re talking about the power structure; we’re talking about its entrenchment. As a result, the media is going through what they have to go through too often times distort – not all the time – and some of the media is fantastic, I have to say – they’re honest and fantastic.

But much of it is not a – the distortion — and we’ll talk about it, you’ll be able to ask me questions about it. But we’re not going to let it happen, because I’m here again, to take my message straight to the people. As you know, our administration inherited many problems across government and across the economy. To be honest, I inherited a mess. It’s a mess. At home and abroad, a mess. Jobs are pouring out of the country; you see what’s going on with all of the companies leaving our country, going to Mexico and other places, low pay, low wages, mass instability overseas, no matter where you look. The middle east is a disaster. North Korea – we’ll take care of it folks; we’re going to take care of it all. I just want to let you know, I inherited a mess.

Ever self-congratulatory, the snowflake president droned on for several minutes, assuring us of his greatness before taking questions from reporters. I watched the full hour and fifteen minutes, and I was in love again. This story is not over. Keep reading.

And may Jesus have mercy on your soul.

One thought on “Snowflake-in-Chief

  1. Pingback: Snowflake-in-Chief | Skeptical Analysis

Leave a Reply

