The Golden Shower

Something interesting

politics-obamadarrfacebookscreenshot

This is something posted on Facebook by an account titled Cold Dead Hands. Those reading, who do not know the meaning or the origin of the phrase, can go to Wikipedia for a history. The late movie actor Charlton Heston popularized it as nobody else will ever be able to:

So, as we set out this year to defeat the divisive forces that would take freedom away, I want to say those fighting words for everyone within the sound of my voice to hear and to heed, and especially for you, Mr. Gore: ‘From my cold, dead hands!’

— Charlton Heston, May 20, 2000

Anyhow, Cold Dead Hands chose to bid the Obamas farewell as they prepare to leave the White House and make way for a new administration, a truly Golden one some may say. And they created a cute meme featuring the President and First Lady. Good for them. And they used a bit of photo shopping to depict the couple in the most  unflattering light. The faces of this prominent American family are seen as scowling, perhaps scowling at all right-thinking Americans they supposedly disdain.

And it came to pass that a Facebook friend posted the message on her time line, giving me the great honor of appreciating the message. And also the great opportunity of capturing it in a screen shot, which is exhibited at the top of this page.

Obviously, bleeding-heart liberal that I am, I was so struck by the absurdity of the message, by the stunning irony, I felt the need to reply. See the above. I posted a link to a recent Friday Funny. The Friday Funny series is something I post each Friday to commemorate some humor, some absurdity, on the world scene. Most often the absurdity (funny) involves a high-ranking personality. I am currently unable to find the Facebook posting captured above. I don’t know whether it has been taken down by the owner, or, if it has been taken down, whether that was due to my comment.

In this case the victim of my warped sense of humor was the very prominent Reverend Franklin Graham, who lately pontificated that God, an imaginary figure, concocted by Bronze Age tribes inhabiting the Eastern Mediterranean two to three thousand years ago, weighed in and saved the country from another four years of liberal government:

“I don’t have any scientific information. I don’t have a stack of emails to read to you,” Graham told the crowd in Mobile, Ala., according to the Washington Examiner. “But I have an opinion: I believe it was God. God showed up. He answered the prayers of hundreds of thousands of people across this land who had been praying for this country.”

What I found funny at the time was what God had saved the country for. At the time I wrote that edition of Friday Funny, the most fitting representation of America’s salvation seemed to be yet another meme, created by somebody who remains anonymous to me.

politics-trumpfirstladyphotos-02

Yes, as I wrote two weeks ago, “God moves in mysterious ways.”

Cold Dead Hands, be prepared to be rewarded. You, and the rest of us, are due for a remarkable, some would even say Golden, four more years.

Keep reading. And may Jesus have mercy on your soul.

One thought on “The Golden Shower

  1. Pingback: The Golden Shower | Skeptical Analysis

Leave a Reply

