The Shakeout

The election is over and well-decided. There can be no doubt. Donald Trump, losing significantly in the popular vote, was solid in the electoral college. He will be the next president. And his campaign promises are going to hit liberals like the proverbial ton of bricks.

  • Build a wall.
  • Repeal every bit of the Affordable Care Act.
  • Suspend immigration from “terror-prone” regions.
  • Withdraw from  the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

…and more.

Not so fast.

politics-trumpobamacare-01

From ABC World News Tonight with David Muir

CBS taped an interview with Donald Trump, due to air on Sunday. Some aspects are interesting in light of Trumps fiery campaign rhetoric:

After running a heated campaign predicated in part on rolling back President Obama’s signature healthcare law, Donald Trump is now signaling an openness to keeping the Affordable Care Act in some form.

People with pre-existing conditions will still be covered in the version of health care that Trump wants to see replace Obamacare, he said in a wide-ranging interview with CBS News’ Lesley Stahl on “60 Minutes.”

“It happens to be one of the strongest assets,” Trump said about insuring people with pre-existing conditions. “It adds cost, but it’s very much something we’re gonna try and keep.”

And, he told Stahl, that there will be no lapse between the repeal of Mr. Obama’s signature health-care law and its replacement by his version. The’re won’t be “a two day period” or “a two year period where there’s nothing. It will be repealed and replaced. I mean, you’ll know. And it’ll be great health care for much less money,” he promised.

After the sun broke through the morning following the election, I posted an analysis of likely reality:

Donald Trump won the hearts and minds of a segment of American society, a segment that flinched at shadows and saw what wasn’t there to be seen. It is a segment for which the truth is a sometime thing, and what is believed is driven by inner voices overriding crisp reality.

  • The religious right saw a savior who would return piety to government institutions.
  • The self-serving saw a politician who would rein in government meddling.
  • Isolationists saw someone to protect them from a fearsome world just an ocean or a wall away.
  • The paranoid saw a politician who respected their romance with deadly force.
  • And some saw a white man who would restore privilege where it was rightly due.

Some or all of these are going to be disappointed.

Yes, some people are going to be disappointed:

“We expect him to move forward on all the items he has promised to move forward on,” said [Kathryn ] Stellmack, 69, a retiree in West Palm Beach, Florida.

“And if he doesn’t, we will hold his feet to the fire.”

After a presidential race fueled by brash but constantly shifting policy proposals, Trump’s millions of followers — from social conservative activists to struggling blue-collar workers to hardline militant groups — say if he does anything less than take a wrecking ball to business-as-usual Washington, they will be disappointed.

“We’ll be watching, Mr. Trump,” said Stellmack.

It’s unclear what Stellmack plans to do in the case Donald Trump does not immediately construct a 20-foot-high wall along the Mexican  border. She may not vote for him in 2020. That would, of course, be devastating.

There is likely to be a lot more of this. The above item, written by John Whitesides for Reuters, elaborates:

Trump’s promises have been hard to pin down, with many policy details left elusive and vague. NBC News identified 141 “distinct shifts” on 23 major issues since Trump announced his candidacy on June 16, 2015.

I have commented on this before:

As I may have mentioned, circumstances change. What was true yesterday may not be true today. And Donald Trump likes to keep current. It’s the minimum we can expect from a major party candidate. His efforts are legend. For starters:

Donald Trump: I’m not a politician … CNN, August 11, 2015

I’m no different from a politician running for office. … You always want to put the best foot forward. New York Times, July 28, 2015

And there is this:

Donald Trump: “I’m Very Pro Choice,” Partial Birth Abortion is OK. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsOlXidHXRE

I’m pro-life. https://www.c-span.org/video/?297952-12/donald-trump-remarks (about 16:16)

Trump in 1999: ‘I am Very Pro-Choice’ http://www.nbcnews.com/meet-the-press/video/trump-in-1999-i-am-very-pro-choice-480297539914

And more:

“My motto is ‘Hire the best people, and don’t trust them.’” (Trump: Think Big, 2007)

“Surround yourself with people you can trust.” (Trump: How to Get Rich, 2004)

And some more:

“Well, I read a lot … and over my life, I’ve read so much.” (The Hugh Hewitt Show, February 25, 2015)

“I don’t read much. Mostly I read contracts, but usually my lawyers do most of the work. There are too many pages.” (Veja, February 2014)

And more:

“I really value my reputation and I don’t hesitate to sue.” (The Village Voice, January 15, 1979)

“I don’t mind being criticized. I’ll never, ever complain.” (CNN, September 24, 2015)

And some more:

George W. Bush? “I like him.” (CNN, October 8, 1999)

“Don’t talk to me about Bush, I was never a defender or a fan!” (Twitter, April 12, 2013)

“I like John McCain.” (Twitter, May 28, 2013)

“I’m not a fan of John McCain.” (Facebook, July 18, 2015)

Always some interesting twists:

“I do have a relationship … He’s probably very interested in what you and I am saying today, and I’m sure he’s going to be seeing it in some form. But I do have a relationship with him.” –Nov. 2013
But then…
“I have no relationship with Putin. I don’t think I’ve ever met him. I never met him.” –July 2016

Yes, President Trump. What are you going to  do?

There will be more to come. Keep reading. And may Jesus have mercy on your soul.

Leave a Reply

