Don’t Bump The Trump

One of a series

Donald Trump dumps on Rosie O'Donnell in primary debate on Fox

Donald Trump dumps on Rosie O’Donnell in primary debate on Fox

A warning for those who chance to meet a wild Trump coming home late at night, past a graveyard, all alone in a storm: Don’t bump the Trump. [With apologies to Shel Silverstein.]

I’ve been running this love fest with presidential candidate Donald Trump for over six weeks with no idea where it’s heading. Now I find I will be able to post a new item every day from now until November without repeating myself. Thank you, Mr. Trump. It’s the nicest thing anybody’s ever done for me.Thank you very, very, very much!

Self-obsessed billionaire Donald Trump earlier snatched the campaign torch from the Republican Party by scooping up conservative America’s low-hanging fruit. Full disclosure: it’s something I proclaimed over a year ago could not be done. I was wrong! How wrong? Very wrong. I completely failed to take into account that Donald Trump’s humanity and deep respect for women:

Over the years, Trump has continued to insult [Rosie] O’Donnell on Twitter from time to time, one of the various low-level feuds he periodically tends to like a plate spinner at the circus. When you look at the tweets altogether, what’s most striking might be how much he seems to care about ratings and who’s hosting the View at any given time. Maybe paying a little more attention to public policy instead of daytime TV wouldn’t be the worst thing, but who am I to say?

Trump has repeatedly defended the righteousness of his O’Donnell insults, both Monday night and in an August Republican primary debate. Then, Megyn Kelly asked the candidate pointedly about his habit of denigrating women: “You’ve called women you don’t like ‘fat pigs,’ ‘dogs,’ ‘slobs,’ and ‘disgusting animals,’ ” Kelly asked, to which Trump responded, “Only Rosie O’Donnell.”*

OK, that’s only one woman. Where’s the evidence The Donald has made a career of insulting people?

During Monday’s presidential debate, Hillary Clinton brought up Donald Trump’s treatment of women, specifically one woman, 1997 Miss Universe winner Alicia Machado.

She opened up about her treatment by Trump during the Miss Universe pageant in an interview released on Clinton’s Twitter account. Trump responded on Tuesday on Fox and Friends, telling them that Machado “was the worst we ever had” and that she “gained a massive amount of weight.”

I think I will just pass over the Megan Kelly business:

But for now, anyway, Trump is out, and you might be wondering: How did we get to this point? You probably recall Trump’s “blood coming out of her wherever” remark about Fox News host Megyn Kelly, who asked tough questions during the first Republican primary debate in August and who will be back as a co-moderator on Thursday. The short answer is that Trump wanted Kelly out, Fox News held firm and Trump walked.

So, Donald Trump has a problem with some women. What’s the big deal?

“I said, ‘dancing, rooftops, street, whatever.’ And we couldn’t find too much stuff confirming what I said. And all of suddenly someone comes up with an article and the article is written by this guy who said he met me many, many years ago. And the article is a great article for me. It talked about dancing, all the things. And I said, ‘here’s an article.’ I said I think he was with The Washington Post when he wrote the article. And he wrote this article. And it was great and I said here’s the article. And it really shut a lot of people up. It was pretty much on point, not 100 percent, but pretty much. It was an article written by a major newspaper. And the author of this article was this guy. And the press started calling him. They are calling him a lot. And obviously the other side of things started calling him also, saying ‘this article is not good, because this is sort of confirming what Trump is saying. They were dancing, they were happy. This is not good.’ So all of the sudden, the guy — I think the article was almost 15 years old — he starts changing the article, that he made a mistake, he this, he that. I didn’t know what he looked like. I didn’t know he was disabled. I didn’t know it, I didn’t know it at all. I had no idea. So I started imitating somebody — I didn’t speak to the guy — somebody that was groveling. Everyone know what grovel is? At the time I did the act, I did the whole thing with groveling. And I said he’s groveling, he said, ‘no, no, the article, I was wrong on the article.’ I was doing a whole big number. ‘I was wrong, I promise you, I made a mistake when I wrote the article.’ He was groveling, grovel, grovel, grovel. That was the end of it. All of a sudden, I get reports that I was imitating a reporter who was handicapped. I would never do that.”

So cool.

Politics-TrumpSergeKovaleski

Yeah, it’s game on. We are going to have more fun between now and November. We can be assured Donald Trump will never fail to entertain us.

Continue reading. And may Jesus have mercy on your soul.

One thought on “Don’t Bump The Trump

  1. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

Leave a Reply

