Over The Top

People, we did it. Donald Trump is now the Republican nominee for President of the United States. It happened last night at the Republican Party national convention in Cleveland, Ohio. And it swells my heart to know I helped make it happen. Here’s how.

Back in March Barbara Jean and I went down to the local polling place on Old Prue Road, and we voted for Donald Trump. We did a bunch of other things following that, but the very next thing we did was keep on going until we got to the Time Warner cable service center. There we turned in out “set top boxes,” terminating our cable TV service. We now only have high speed Internet, which is why these screen shots are from Hulu.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-01

I need to advise my readers up front that I did not take these photos. I was not in Cleveland, and I certainly was not at the convention. All the photos, except the one at the top above the headline that says “Skeptical Analysis,” I stole from ABC News by way of Hulu. I hope everybody is clear on that. It’s going to be important later on.

People who know me know I think a lot of my own opinion, but that goes with the territory. People who know me also know I have been wrong before:

Don’t you just hate it when you’re wrong? You do? I don’t. I love it. I absolutely love it. Maybe it’s because I am wrong so seldom. In this instance there’s another reason I’m so happy I was wrong. Here is what I had to say last year:

This was back on 16 June. Real estate tycoon and billionaire Donald Trump announced he is a candidate for the Republican Party nomination for president. I recall at the time I had some sort of snarky response. It was something like:

Happy days are here again
The skies above are clear again
So let’s sing a song of cheer again
Happy days are here again

That was because I knew, as did anybody fresh out of captivity by the Taliban, that the fun was about to begin. Unfortunately I had mis located my egg timer. The fun was not late coming:

Yes, that part left me a tad sheep-faced. I learn to live with my mistakes and to move on. Unlike some others. Tuesday was a glorious night for Donald Trump. He was officially the nominee, and it was time for him to bring up additional of his assets, chief among which is his lovely and charming wife Melania. Last night she came forward to deliver a blockbuster speech in praise of her husband. It was a home run, the likes of which we have not seen in over in eight years. It was definitely over the top.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-02

Donald Trump was rightly proud of his wife, an accomplished immigrant to this country, with much to show for somebody who never graduated from college.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-03

Yes, there was a minor problem. The reason the world never saw such a speech in over eight years was because the last time that speech was delivered was eight years ago.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-04

ABC News can be cruel sometimes. They put up the two accomplished women side by side and had them repeat what they each said eight years apart.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-05

First Michelle Obama would deliver part of her 2008 speech, and then Melania would do the same. The same. You could tell which woman was speaking, because ABC News would highlight the speaker at the same time they enabled the sound. Else it was hard to tell. Both ladies were very charming.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-06

The news media can be brutally cruel at times. Those would be the times when the truth is hard to deny.

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-07

Damage control by Trump, Inc.? Nothing The Donald cannot handle. He’s had a lot of experience. There is one thing, however, that he needs to teach his lovely and accomplished wife. He needs to remind her that before she delivers somebody else’s speech, she should not state, with the cameras recording, “I wrote it, [with as little help as possible].”

Politics-TrumpMelaniaSpeech-08

As I mentioned before, I did not take these photographs. I lifted them from other sources, which sources I have properly credited. Trumps, take a lesson. You’re in the big leagues now.

Leave a Reply

