I Was Wrong!

One of a very long series

Politics-MarcoRubioOut

Of course, I’ve been wrong before. Take, for example, an interchange I had with a Facebook friend last July. Was I ever wrong:

Is it possible The Donald doesn’t really plan to get elected? If that’s the case, then he is going to disappoint a few people. Some of those people will be Facebook “friends” of mine. The following popped up on my feed. I have edited it to eliminate superfluous Facebook formatting:

As everybody observed back then, I was way out of my league:

It will be obvious to readers that I was on the losing end of this conversation. It will also be obvious that out there somewhere is enormous support for Donald Trump. Let’s review the foregoing. Some Skeptical Analysis.

There followed some skeptical analysis. Read on.

The 2016 campaign season has seen candidates come. And go. Did I mention the 2016 campaign season has seen many candidates come? And go? Let’s see if I can remember them all:

  • Jeb Bush
  • Ben Carson
  • Chris Christie
  • Ted Cruz
  • Carly Fiorina
  • Jim Gilmore
  • Lindsey Graham
  • Mike Huckabee
  • Bobby Jindal
  • John Kasich
  • George Pataki
  • Rand Paul
  • Rick Perry
  • Marco Rubio
  • Rick Santorum
  • Donald Trump
  • Scott Walker

And there were a couple of others. As of last night, all but three have faded away. First time Senator Marco Rubio was unable to win the votes of his home state of Florida, and there was hardly a candidate who deserved this fate more. Since Rubio previously declined to run for re-election, he will be out of government service beginning January. Of course, it’s possible a winning candidate will tap the expired senator as a running mate. Miracles abound.

And I was wrong! Last year I was telling everybody who would listen that billionaire entrepreneur Donald Trump was having a big joke on us, and his campaign was not going anywhere. Does anybody have a crow I can eat?

But wait, I was also telling everybody that Jeb Bush was the best bet for the Republican Party. It turned out that in going down this road I forgot to consult with my Republican friends. My favorite Republican never got out of single digits and faded like the proverbial snowball in Texas.

Also not sorry was I to see go were the idiotic Bobby Jindal, Carly Fiorina, and Ben Carson, three otherwise successful people who proceeded to make names for themselves by pretending to be idiots in public. Jindal’s lack of substance eventually became so apparent that voters in his own state of Louisiana pulled the handle on him a few months back. Fiorina became famous for seeing a scandalous video that never existed. Apparently she had also been seeing a political future that never existed. She will not be missed. Ben Carson became famous for making vacuous statements, ending with one about ancient Egyptians storing grain in the Great Pyramids if Giza. Beyond that, observers began to get the idea that Carson’s entire campaign amounted to nothing more than a ploy to promote books he has written. Even Republicans did a little dance when he left.

But I was wrong! I distinctly recall telling people that Texas Senator Ted Cruz was so toxic that even the Republican Party hoped to see him ride off into the sunset. Guess what? With the exit of Florida Senator Marco Rubio, Cruz has vaulted into the number two slot in the Republican Party race. Right behind (laugh at me now) Donald Trump.

Readers, the next time I stand at my Internet podium and pronounce on political futures yet to materialize, take the opportunity to put me in my place. You only need to say two words: “Donald Trump.” I will be properly chastised.

[Full disclosure: I voted for Donald Trump in the Texas primary, at the same time contributing money to the campaign of former New York Senator Hillary Clinton. And may Jesus have mercy on my soul.]

70 thoughts on “I Was Wrong!

  1. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  2. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  3. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  4. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  5. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  6. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  7. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  8. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  9. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  10. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  11. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  12. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  13. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  14. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  15. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  16. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  17. Pingback: Don’t Bump The Trump | Skeptical Analysis

  18. Pingback: Surprise! Surprise! | Skeptical Analysis

  19. Pingback: Treasure Chest | Skeptical Analysis

  20. Pingback: Industrial Strength Irony | Skeptical Analysis

Leave a Reply

