Why I Support Clinton

An unpaid political endorsement

HillaryDeletedTheTruth

Yes, I love that movie. The script is by Aaron Sorkin, just about my favorite script master (also The American President, The West Wing). Of course, anybody knee deep in American films recognizes the above allusion to the climactic scene that has Tom Cruise grilling Jack Nicholson on the stand and demanding the truth. I didn’t create this meme. Someone of great wit did, and I feel I need to use it. I’m here to state why I support Hillary Clinton for President, and I should start by putting up the best shot from the opposition.

So that was it. The best shot, and Hillary is still standing. Now it’s time to get down to reality.

The first thing people who know me are going to ask is, “Why not Bernie Sanders?” Easy question, and my answer is, “Bernie Sanders.” When the race kicked off last year it appeared Clinton was going to be the anointed Democratic Party candidate. Then Sanders (and Martin O’Malley) jumped in. Sanders lost me with his first shot:

As with many other elements of his platform, critics of Sanders’ free-college proposal have charged that it is unrealistic and that he hasn’t fully explained how to pay for it. Funding free college can be tricky because, as with other government benefits, the very act of promising to pay can drive up costs in a couple of different ways.

Yes, call me a bleeding heart liberal if you want, but I saw this within two seconds. I’m a retired engineer with three college degrees, said degrees obtained at public universities in Texas with tuition subsidized by tax payers. Thank you. But it wasn’t free. In a screwball way, it turned out that taxpayers ended up footing the bill for all my college tuition. I worked this way.

Out of high school I embarked on an active tour of duty with the Navy Reserve. Taxpayers funded that, and I thank you. I saved my government pay and applied it to my college expenses to get a degree in engineering. Before my initial funds ran dry the Navy Reserve got back to me and payed me full salary and expenses to work as a campus recruiter while taking classes. Thanks, taxpayers. Later I went back to school and obtained degrees in mathematics and physics. Most of this time I was working for defense contractors, who payed my tuition. Again, thanks to all you hard-working taxpayers.

So you can see the taxpayers of this country did, in fact, fund my college education. And I am eternally grateful. As I heard it from Sanders, that is not what he had in mind. How was the government going to pay for all this college tuition? Sanders proposed to tax the rich.

Nah. That’s never going to happen. In order to tax the rich you are going to need some help from Congress, and the rich, while not owning Sanders, certainly do own Congress. Call me a bleeding heart liberal if you want, but I have been constrained to live the past 75 years in the real world. People detached from reality do not hold my attention for more than a few milliseconds. Goodbye, Senator Sanders.

Why Hillary? My short answer is mental depth and a certain lack of bat-shit crazy. Before she abandoned her career to get into politics with skirt-chasing Bill, Hillary had a lot going for her:

From 1982 to 1988, Clinton was on the board of directors, sometimes as chair, of the New World Foundation, which funded a variety of New Left interest groups. From 1987 to 1991, she was the first chair of the American Bar Association’s Commission on Women in the Profession, created to address gender bias in the legal profession and induce the association to adopt measures to combat it. She was twice named by The National Law Journal as one of the 100 most influential lawyers in America: in 1988 and in 1991. When Bill Clinton thought about not running again for governor in 1990, Hillary considered running, but private polls were unfavorable and, in the end, he ran and was re-elected for the final time

This is one tough old biddy.

What about her detractors? To many she comes off as devious, some would even say untrustworthy. Wait just a moment. Let’s look at the job description: President of the United States—tasked with ordering certain people be killed, making cozy deals with world despots, deporting young children. Yeah, Hillary is up to the job.

But, can you trust her to fulfill her campaign promises? Pardon me while I enjoy a nice laugh with all who just read the foregoing. Of course not. For me it’s not so much what Hillary promises to do (but will not), it’s what she will not do. Here’s a short list:

  • Repeal the Affordable Care Act.
  • Resurrect Antonin Scalia and nominate him to the Supreme Court.
  • Ban homosexuals from serving in the military.
  • Sign off on legislation making Christianity the state religion.
  • Privatize Social Security
  • Remind the LGBT community they are second class citizens.

And that’s only a partial list. You will, of course, remind me that Bernie Sanders will likewise not do any of those things. Bernie Sanders will not do any of those things, because Americans will not elect Bernie Sanders. They will, instead, elect Donald Trump, the least of our remaining worries. When it comes to voting for bat-shit crazy, the American electorate is not something I want to take a chance on. One Antonin Scalia on the Supreme court is not worth risking for 100 million free scholarships, and that’s the chance Democrats take if they nominate Bernie Sanders.

As Forrest Gump would say, “And that’s all I have to say about that.”

Full disclosure: This is to remind people who do not already know that my wife and Hillary’s husband attended high school together in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

Leave a Reply

